Best Thomas Hardy Teen & Young Adult Literature Classics in 2022

Thomas Hardy Teen Young Adult Literature Classics

If you're a teen looking for a classic to read, try some of Thomas Hardy's novels. These stories are filled with mystery and suspense and are sure to keep your young mind engaged. Teen readers may also enjoy the Stratemeyer Syndicate series and Nancy Drew.

Thomas Hardy's novels

Thomas Hardy's novels for teens and younger adults have received mixed reviews. Many regarded them as too violent or too bleak for a young audience. However, some readers praise them for addressing social issues in a way that will appeal to teenagers. In his early works, Hardy explores the relationship between family and the individual. His books often explore the issues of class, gender, and sexuality.

In his mid-thirties, Thomas Hardy was a celebrated writer. He was published in prestigious magazines and married to a woman he loved. But as he grew older, Hardy's writing became increasingly pessimistic. One critic argued that Hardy's pessimism was a result of the traumas he had experienced in life. However, this view misses the point, which is that Hardy's pessimilism was a natural cast of his sensibility.

A collection of 15 Hardy's novels for teens and young people is available in e-book format. This edition contains classics such as Return of the Native, The Woodlanders, and Tess of the d'Urbervilles. Hardy's novels focus on tragic characters and are written in a semi-fictional English region called Wessex. The region was based on a medieval Anglo-Saxon kingdom.

The Stratemeyer Syndicate

The Stratemeyer Syndicate was a publishing company which published a number of young adult books. Edward Stratemeyer was a writer and publisher who had more ideas than time. In order to expand his publishing empire, he created a syndicate. Through this, he was able to offer more books to publishers. As well, he also started buying stories from magazines. These stories were then sold to publishers on an outright basis or on a royalties basis. This allowed him to recoup his investment from book sales.

The Syndicate was founded by Edward Stratemeyer in 1905. It was a publishing company that specialized in publishing inexpensive juvenile novels. It employed ghostwriters to write the books. Stratemeyer, who was the youngest of six children, had an interest in writing from an early age. He even started a small printing press when he was a child and sold small pieces to different newspapers.

Jude the Obscure

Jude the Obscure is one of Thomas Hardy's final novels, and it features a strong heroine, encroaching modernity, and tragedy in love. The story is darker than many of Hardy's other novels and invites controversy in its attacks on social conventions. The plot centers on Jude Fawley, a working-class boy who dreams of being a scholar. In the story, he develops a romantic relationship with Sue Bridehead, and he struggles with the morality of marriage and class.

The novel is full of anger, passion, and tragedy. It attacks Victorian society's attitudes toward marriage, education, social mobility, and women. It provoked an immediate uproar when it first appeared and is regarded as one of Hardy's greatest works.

The Graces

This YA classic is a powerful fantasy novel with sophisticated prose and a gut-punching twist. It's the perfect book for teen readers who enjoyed The Craft, We Were Liars, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. This novel is a classic of the teen witch genre and marks the beginning of a new generation of teen witches. The story is reminiscent of the Salem Witch Trials and features a teen witches who set out to become powerful and successful.

This classic is a satirical tale about class and gender disparity. The narrator, Philip Mallett, is a senior English lecturer at the University of St Andrews. His love interest, Grace Melbury, is educated beyond her station, so her alternative choice is disastrous. The novel also explores the double standards in society, showing how women and men are judged according to their class.

Tess of the Urbervilles

The classic story of Tess of the D'Urbervilles is one of Thomas Hardy's most famous novels. Originally published in 1891, the novel is a powerful exploration of Victorian morals, gender roles, and class stratification. The protagonist, a young woman from rural England, faces numerous obstacles and trials as she struggles to maintain her family's legacy and recover from the tragedies of Victorian life.

During the early part of the novel, Tess is an innocent young woman. She accepts a job with a wealthy lady, believing that she is related to her. However, the son of the rich lady, Alec D'Urberville, seduces her and impregnates her. She becomes pregnant, and eventually falls in love with another man, Angel Clare. During her time with Alec, she tries to save her marriage but her husband is dead, and she ends up pregnant.

The author's unique style of writing made it one of the most popular novels for teens. The bleak countryside of England is the setting of the novel, and Hardy's style is filled with pictorial naturalism. Hardy drew inspiration from real life towns and people to create his stories.

Cress Delahanty

Thomas Hardy is a cult hero of British literature, and this newest biography of the author aims to help young readers discover his legacy. Originally published in 1954, Hardy has won numerous awards, including the Pulitzer Prize. His books have also been translated into numerous languages, including French, Italian, and Spanish.

We Were Liars by Jessica Goodman

Jessica Goodman, bestselling author of the We Were Liars series, has written a new book set in 2020. The story follows two women who attempt to solve a murder case in a town full of expert liars and deceivers. They discover that they are both outcasts, and must decide how to find justice, despite the trials that may await them.

The Twin and The Fear

The Twin and The Fear is the first book in the Stalking Jack The Ripper series and has won the New York Times and USA Today bestseller list. It is about a girl named Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria, who live as streghe, or witches, secretly among humans. Emilia discovers that her sister is dead, and she is determined to seek vengeance through forbidden dark magic.



Lisa Brooke-Taylor

I am passionate about 2 things, our customers success and helping public sector organisations better serve and protect citizens. Building relationships to understand their critical business issues, working with them to identify innovative and cost effective solutions to transform their organisations and maximise their investment. Many public sector organisations are already familiar with some Microsoft technologies, with our Mobile first, Cloud first vision, we can help deliver a truly flexible, mobile and productive platform for their workforce, enabling them to improve services to their customers.

📧Email | 📘 LinkedIn