Best Teen & Young Adult Dystopian Sci-Fi eBooks in 2022


Dystopian Sci-Fi eBooks For Teens and Young Adults

If you are looking for YA dystopian sci-fi books, this article is for you. The dystopian future setting of the Arc of a Scythe series is sure to appeal to teens. The series is set in a world without war, hunger, disease, or misery. The story follows the journey of two teenage Scythe apprentices. Arc of a Scythe is followed by the sequel Thunderhead.

Ender's Game

For those who are fans of the New York Times bestselling book Ender's Game, you may want to read Insignia by S.J. Kincaid. The dystopian future of Insignia is perfect for fans of Ender's Game. In this dystopian sci-fi novel, Earth is in the middle of WWIII, with each country fighting for its share of the solar system's resources. Laz Raines, the protagonist of this book, has never made a mistake in his life. He wakes up in an abandoned Earth cloning facility.

The plot of Ender's Game is one of the most important pieces of science fiction in the last century. The story revolves around a boy named Andrew "Ender" Wiggin, who is studying at the military academy, the Battle School, and his battle with a mysterious alien race. This book has set the standard for dystopian novels and continues to be a landmark of the genre.

Among the best books for young adults and teens is Doomsday Book by Orson Scott Card. This award-winning novel takes place in the 29th century. A creature known as Shrike is waiting on Hyperion for humanity to return. Trying to rescue him from the past, a modern-day team desperately tries to save him. At the same time, a mysterious disease is sweeping through modern-day London. Kivrin must figure out how the two events are connected to save the world and save humanity from destruction.

The Hunger Games

Fans of Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games trilogy will want to pick up The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, a prequel to The bestselling novel. It features the eponymous protagonist Coriolanus Snow and takes place before The Hunger Games. This YA dystopia series is sure to keep readers turning pages and imagining what it might be like in a future where humanity is completely destroyed.

Despite the hype surrounding the movie, The Hunger Games is a very different story. The story is set in 2044 and revolves around a dystopian future in which society has been overrun by a gang of people who have no regard for human life. A suicidal teenage girl named Lizzie is barely navigating her life, with no reason to continue living. Then, she receives a mysterious phone call from a stranger. Suddenly, Lizzie must figure out whether to trust her friend or her enemy.

The first book in the series was The Hunger Games, which paved the way for spinoff series and many novellas. The next book in the series, Imagine Me, will be released in 2020. It's about a girl who has dangerous powers and a boy who's been pushed into an asylum cell. As the world nears its end, humans have to work together to find a way to get back to Earth and save their species.

The third book in the series, The 100, is about teenagers stranded on a strange world. They're forced to undergo a grueling aptitude test to determine which faction they belong to. Once the results are known, they can make their life difficult, but they're also free to choose their destiny. The resulting consequences of exposing their secret could have dire consequences for the group. The Hunger Games are not the only books about teen dystopias.

The Selection is another dystopian novel for young adults. In this dystopian society, love is referred to as Delirium. Luckily, Lena's love for Alex makes her realize that she's not alone, and she meets the handsome "Invalid" Alex. The first book in the series is the first, and the other two are Pandemonium and Requiem. A new series will be released soon after the first book.

The Hero, The Sword and The Dragons

In this novel, an unmarried sister discovers that she is pregnant. The father of the baby is already married and has a child. Since conceiving a child out of wedlock is a criminal offense, the unmarried sister must use her creative thinking to save the baby. But the Roman Empire never collapsed. It still ruled over the Americas, and now a rebel group wants to fight for freedom and set up their own government.

Radicalized

If you're looking for dystopian fiction, Radicalized is a timely selection. The four novellas in Radicalized weave together social, technological, and economic visions of the near future for America. Whether you're a teen looking to discover her own identity or an adult re-creating society, you'll find it here.

The main character in this novel, Six, is a feisty survivor of the Great War and spearheading a rebellion to save the human race. Her parents and sister were killed in a massacre and her father was a veteran of the Speculative Service. In an attempt to escape becoming an adult in a post-apocalyptic society, she starves herself and questions truth enforcement. In her frantic search for truth, the teen leader investigates a shocking mystery. She risks her life to lead a girl uprising.

Scythe is another critically acclaimed young adult dystopian novel that deals with darker themes. The story takes place in a dystopian future where humanity is immune to natural causes and is ruled by an artificial intelligence cloud. This cloud also tries to regulate the population through a specific percentage of deaths each year. To achieve this, the scythes are employed to kill people.


Cathy Warwick

Over 20 years experience within UK & European Retail & Contract Furniture, Fabric, Equipment, Accessories & Lighting. Having worked on “both sides of the fence” as European manufacturer UK rep/agent to dealer & specifier has given me a unique understanding and perspective of initial product selection all the way along the process to installation and beyond. Working closely with fabricators, manufacturers, end clients, designers, QSs, project manager and contractors means I have very detailed and rounded knowledge of the needs and expectations of each of these groups, be it creative, technical or budgetary, and ensure I offer the very best service and value for money to meet their needs. I enhance the performance of any business by way of my commercial knowledge, networking & friendly relationship building ability and diplomatic facilitation skills to build trusting long term relationships with clients of all organisational levels and sectors.

📧Email | 📘LinkedIn