|1||Top Woman Asian The World Season 13: 600 pages of images||View|
|2||The Business of Being an Artist||View|
The John Kerr Museums & Collections
For visitors who would like to learn more about the museum's collections, here are some tips:
The John Kerr Museums & Collections' art collection is comprised of works by European masters, including Saint Martin and the Beggar by El Greco. Also featured are works by Matthias Grunewald, Cranach the Elder, Roier van der Weyden, and Rembrandt. In addition, the museum's collection of sculptures includes the Chalice of Abbot Suger of St. Denis, as well as works by August Rodin and Edgar Degas.
This art collection features Native American pottery, paintings, and jewelry, including works by Jerome Tiger, Maria Martinez, and Charles Lolomo. Other works by Native artists can be found throughout the museum. For more information, visit the website. It features information on each artist's work. The collections of paintings, sculptures, and Native American works are available online. A variety of educational opportunities are available, and the John Kerr Museums & Collections is the perfect place to begin your art education.
In 1976, a group of artists and art collectors from Aboriginal communities in Western Australia and the Northern Territory began exhibiting their artwork. The first Australian commercial art gallery to exhibit Aboriginal art was Hogarth Galleries, and it was named the Gallery of Dreams. In the late 1970s, the majority of the business was generated by buyers from the United States and overseas tourists. However, the AAB was able to raise the profile of Aboriginal art and make the first major exhibition of this type possible.
The Branch House was a holiday home for the family of a prominent Virginian banker. The Branch family had vacation homes in upstate New York, upstate Virginia, and even Italy. They returned to Richmond for holidays and events during the holidays, which usually fell between Thanksgiving and New Year's. Some of their vacations included Halloween and Valentine's Day. But they were also known to celebrate New Year's Eve and Christmas at the Branch House.
The Branch House was built in 1917 by renowned architect John Russell Pope. This Tudor-Revival style residence was the only one of its kind in Virginia. Pope's Tudor-Revival design featured a chapel-like studio, concrete floors, masonry walls, and an elaborate library and dining room. The house was completed in 1919. The Branch family possessed a vast collection of art and objects that were once displayed throughout the house.
The Branch family left the property to a local charity in the 1950s, but the house changed hands several times. The Virginia Architecture Foundation bought it in 2003 and opened the house in 2005. Today, the building houses the branch museum of architecture and design, the offices of the Virginia Society of American Institute of Architects, and the Virginia Center for Architecture. With this expansion, the Branch House is home to a variety of arts and crafts and is an excellent place to experience art and architecture.
In addition to displaying the artwork and objects displayed throughout the home, visitors will be able to explore the home itself. The Branch House is a stunning example of a Tudor-Jacobean Revival home. The building has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is one of the largest houses in the city of Richmond. The Branch House is open to the public by appointment, and educational programs are offered at the property. The museum is closed on Jewish holidays.
The Samuel H. Kress Foundation at John Kerr Museums & Collections has acquired a large archive of materials related to art. The archive contains correspondence, documents, and photographs that detail the foundation's acquisition, maintenance, and conservation of artworks and artifacts. The collections also include related objects, photographs, and shadowgraphs. It is the perfect place to find important art history documents.
In the 1930s, the Foundation routinely gifted individual paintings to educational institutions and regional museums. These gifts helped foster local pride by providing a town with the only Old Master painting. The Kress Collection eventually totaled over 3,000 works of art. And, thanks to the generosity of Kress family members, the Foundation can now offer a unique and fascinating look into the history of art.
The Samuel H. Kress Foundation at John Kerr Museums & Collections is one of the few museums in the United States that has a comprehensive collection of works by Samuel H. Kress. The Foundation's history reflects its roots in the early American republic. The Kress family came from a poor background and worked in various jobs before settling in Cherryville, Pennsylvania. Later, they opened a store and museum.
A major collection of artworks from the Kress Foundation dates back to the 1920s. It was established in 1929, and its archives are filled with information related to the foundation's history. These include annual reports, correspondence, and memos related to the exhibition. These are also accompanied by footage of a Kress family reunion. A collection of archival material is also held at the University of Arizona, and it contains audio files of interviews with Mario Modestini.
Another recent project is the Stanford Memorial Church. The collection is undergoing a restoration by architect Lesley Bone. Elisabeth Cornu is returning to the 16th-century Spanish ceiling to begin work on the project. She also works on a new ivory project with Krassimir Gatev and Bob Rosenberg. All these projects reflect the museum's mission to preserve the history of art.